Соня Йончева

Biography

Superstar soprano Sonya Yoncheva has been heralded as one of the most acclaimed and exciting performers of her generation.

She has become an acclaimed fixture on the most important stages of the world, including the Metropolitan Opera, Royal Opera House, Teatro alla Scala, Bayerische Staatsoper, Berlin State Opera, Wiener Staatsoper, and the Opéra de Paris. Her unforgettable portrayals of iconic roles have received tremendous acclaim from critics and audiences alike.

She recently sang Tosca at the Bayerische Staatsoper Munich and at Staatsoper Berlin, La traviata at the Maggio Musicale in Florence, Médée at Staatsoper Berlin, La bohème (Mimì) at Covent Garden, Il pirata at the Teatro Real Madrid, Otello in Baden-Baden and Berlin, Iolanta and Otello at the Metropolitan Opera. Sonya has also participated in the 2020 season opening gala of the Teatro alla Scala A Riveder le Stelle, in the 2020 edition of Weihnachten mit dem Bundespräsidenten, a Christmas concert hosted by the German President and broadcast on German television on Christmas Eve, in the Rolex Perpetual Music Gala in Berlin, in the 2020 Concert de Paris as well as in galas and solo concerts at the Salzburg Festival, Arena di Verona, Teatro Real Madrid, Monte-Carlo Opéra, Budapest Opera, in Mexico City and Antwerp.

Other career highlights include new productions of Tosca and Otello at the Metropolitan Opera, where she also performed the title roles of Luisa Miller, La traviata and Iolanta, Mimì in La bohème and Gilda in Rigoletto, the title parts of Norma (new production) and La traviata, Marguerite in Faust, Antonia in Les Contes d’Hoffmann, Micaëla in Carmen, Mimì and Musetta in La bohème at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, Il pirata (new staging) and La bohème (Mimì) at Teatro alla Scala, L’incoronazione di Poppea (new production) at the Salzburg Festival, new stagings of Médée and La traviata at the Staatsoper Berlin, and of Don Carlo, La bohème and Iolanta at the Paris Opéra, where she also appeared in La traviata and Lucia di Lammermoor.

After studying piano and voice in her hometown Plovdiv with Nelly Koitcheva, Sonya Yoncheva obtained her master’s degree in voice in Geneva, studying with Danielle Borst. Sonya is an alumna of William Christie’s Le Jardin des Voix. She is the winner of several renowned international competitions, including top prize and the special CultureArte prize at Plácido Domingo’s Operalia competition (2010). She was honored as the Newcomer of the Year (Singer) at the 2015 ECHO Klassik Awards and is the winner of the 2019 Readers’ Awards of the International Opera Awards.

Соня Йончева

Биография

Одна из самых востребованных и впечатляющих оперных певиц своего поколения. Ее выступления на крупнейших оперных сценах мира, в том числе в Метрополитен-опере (Нью-Йорк), Королевской опере Ковент-Гарден (Лондон), театре Ла Скала (Милан), Баварской государственной опере (Мюнхен), Берлинской государственной опере, Венской государственной опере и Парижской национальной опере, неизменно получают самые высокие оценки публики и критиков.

Среди недавних выступлений: «Тоска» Дж. Пуччини в Баварской и Берлинской государственных операх, «Травиата» Дж. Верди во Флорентийской опере, «Медея» Л. Керубини в Берлинской государственной опере, «Богема» Дж. Пуччини в Королевской опере Ковент-Гарден, «Пират» В. Белини в Королевском театре Мадрида, «Отелло» Дж. Верди в Баден-Бадене и Берлине, «Иоланта» П. Чайковского и «Отелло» Дж. Верди в Метрополитен-опере. Непременный участник престижных музыкальных проектов, в 2020 году Соня Йончева выступила в концерте A Riveder le Stelle, посвященном открытию сезона в театре Ла Скала, Рождественском концерте Weihnachten mit dem Bundespräsidenten, организованном президентом Германии и транслировавшимся по немецкому телевидению, Rolex Perpetual Music Gala в Берлине, традиционном концерте ко дню взятия Бастилии Concert de Paris, а также участвовала в различных гала и давала сольные концерты на Зальцбургском фестивале, в Арена ди Верона, Королевском театре в Мадриде, Опере Монте-Карло, Будапештской национальной опере, в Мехико и Антверпене.

Важнейшими событиями ее творческой карьеры стали выступления в новых постановках «Тоски» и «Отелло» в Метрополитен-опере, исполнение заглавных партий в операх «Луиза Миллер», «Травиата» и «Иоланта», партий Мими («Богема») и Джильды («Риголетто») на той же сцене; главные партии в операх «Норма» (новая постановка) и «Травиата», Маргарита («Фауст» Ш. Гуно), Антония («Сказки Гофмана» Ж. Оффенбаха), Микаэла («Кармен» Ж. Бизе), Мими и Мюзетта (Богема») – в Королевской опере Ковент-Гарден; участие в новой постановке оперы В. Беллини «Пират» (Имоджена) и спектакле «Богема» (Мими) в театре Ла Скала, постановке «Коронации Поппеи» К. Монтеверди на Зальцбургском фестивале; спектаклях «Медея» и «Травиата» в Берлинской государственной опере, «Дон Карлос», «Богема» и «Иоланта» в Парижской национальной опере, на сцену которой певица также выходила в спектаклях «Травиата» и «Лючия ди Ламмермур».

Соня Йончева родилась в Пловдиве (Болгария), где училась игре на фортепиано и пению под руководством Нелли Койчевой. Продолжила обучение в Женевской консерватории (класс Даниэль Борст), окончила Академию молодых певцов Le Jardin des Voix Уильяма Кристи. Является лауреатом нескольких престижных международных конкурсов, в том числе победителем «Опералии» Пласидо Доминго (удостоена первой премии и специального приза CultureArte, 2010). В разные годы была отмечена музыкальными премиями ECHO Klassik (номинация «Открытие года», 2015) и International Opera Award (номинация «Выбор читателей», 2019).