Nearest performances

Salome 20 October22 October23 October


				
Томас Майер

Biography

German baritone Thomas Johannes Mayer first studied history, German language and literature, music education and philosophy, before beginning his vocal training at the College of Music in Cologne with Liselotte Hammes and Kurt Moll.

Following on from initial engagements in Regensburg and Darmstadt, Thomas J. Mayer enjoyed acclaim at the municipal theatre in Basel in the title role of Mozart’s opera Don Giovanni and as Achilles in Othmar Schoeck’s Penthesilea (Director Hans Neuenfels). Thomas J. Mayer was also greatly praised when he played Wotan/Wanderer in Wagner’s The Ring of the Nibelung at the Badisches Staatstheater in Karlsruhe and the title role in Hindemith’s Mathis der Maler. In the 2008/09 season he moved to the Hamburgischen Staatsoper, where he played a number of roles including the four villains (Les сontes d’Hoffmann), Mandryka (Arabella), Kaspar (Der Freischütz), Jochanaan (Salome), Wotan (Die Walküre), Rigoletto and Scarpia (Tosca).

Thomas J. Mayer has been a freelance artist since 2010.

His international career began in the 2007/08 season, playing the title role in Berg’s Wozzeck (directed by Jürgen Flimm) at La Scala in Milan, where he was subsequently engaged as Posa for the new production of Don Carlo in December 2009.

Since then, Thomas Johannes Mayer has guested at many opera houses including De Nederlands Opera in Amsterdam, the Theater Basel, the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brussels, the Royal Opera House Covent Gaden, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Staatsoper Unter den Linden and Komische Oper in Berlin, the Deutsche Oper am Rhein in Dusseldorf, the Aalto Theater Essen, the Hamburgischen Staatsoper, the opera houses in Cologne and Leipzig, Teatro alla Scala in Milan, the Bayerischen Staatsoper in Munich, the Opéra National de Paris, the New National Theatre Tokyo, Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia, Theater an der Wien, the Opernhaus in Zurich and at the Bregenz Music Festival, the Herodus Atticus festival in Athens, the Bayreuth Festival (2012, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2018), the Salzburg Festival (2010 and 2011), the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Odense Symfoniorkester.

His repertoire encompasses both the great Strauss and Wagner roles such as Barak (Die Frau ohne Schatten), Jochanaan (Salome), Mandryka (Arabella), Amfortas (Parsifal), Telramund (Lohengrin), Wotan/Wanderer (The Ring of the Nibelung), Dutchman (The Flying Dutchman) as well as roles such as Moses in Schoenberg’s Moses and Aaron, Thoas in Gluck’s opera Iphigenia in Tauris and Mizguir in Rimsky-Korsakov’s The Snow Maiden.

Recent engagements include as Graf Andrae Vitelozzo Tamare in Franz Schreker’s Die Gezeichneten at the Opernhaus in Zurich, Telramund in Wagner’s Lohengrin at the National Theatre in Prag and at the Bayreuth Festival, Wassermann in Dvorák’s Rusalka at the Opéra national de Paris, the title role in Manfred Trojahn’s Orest, Don Pizarro (Fidelio) and Amfortas (Parsifal), Pizarro in a new production of Leonore at the Wiener Staatsoper, Wotan (Die Walküre) at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and Mandryka (Arabella) and the title role in Wagner’s The Flying Dutchman at the Oper Leipzig.

Thomas J. Mayer has worked with famous conductors like Daniel Barenboim, Semyon Bychkov, Daniele Gatti, Philippe Jordan, Vladimir Jurowski, Zubin Mehta, Kent Nagano, Andris Nelsons, Sir Simon Rattle, Donald Runnicles, Ulf Schirmer, Stefan Soltesz, Christian Thielemann and Simone Young.

Томас Майер

Биография

Изучал историю, философию, немецкий язык и литературу, позже окончил Кёльнскую высшую школу музыки, где занимался вокалом в классах Лизелотты Хаммес и Курта Молля.

Первые выступления состоялись в театрах Регенсбурга и Дармштадта, а партии Дон Жуана в одноименной опере В.А. Моцарта и Ахилла в одноактной опере Отмара Шёка «Пентесилея» (режиссер Ханс Нойенфельс), исполненные в театре Базеля, принесли певцу известность. Высокую оценку также получило его исполнение партии Вотана/ Странника («Кольцо нибелунга» Р. Вагнера) в Баденском государственном театре в Карлсруэ, равно как и заглавной партии в опере П. Хиндемита «Художник Матис». В сезоне 2008/09 Томас Майер выступал на сцене Гамбургской государственной оперы, где спел обширный репертуар, включая партии четырех злодеев в «Сказках Гофмана» Ж. Оффебаха, Мандрыки («Арабелла» Р. Штрауса), Каспара («Вольный стрелок» К.М. фон Вебера), Иоканаана («Саломея» Р. Штрауса), Вотана («Валькирия» Р. Вагнера), Риголетто («Риголетто» Дж. Верди) и Скарпиа («Тоска» Дж. Пуччини).

Международная карьера певца стартовала на сцене театра Ла Скала в Милане, где в сезоне 2007/08 он с большим успехом дебютировал в партии Воццека в одноименной опере А. Берга (режиссер Юрген Флимм), и в следующем сезоне спел партию Маркиза ди Позы («Дон Карлос» Дж. Верди).

В качестве приглашенного солиста выступал на крупнейших оперных площадках, в числе которых Нидерландская национальная опера в Амстердаме, Театр Базеля, Королевская опера Ла Монне в Брюсселе, лондонская Королевская опера Ковент-Гарден, Немецкая опера и Комише опер в Берлине, Берлинская государственная опера, Немецкая опера на Рейне (Дюссельдорф), театр Аалто в Эссене, Гамбургская государственная опера, оперные дома Кёльна и Лейпцига, театр Ла Скала в Милане, Баварская государственная опера в Мюнхене, Парижская национальная опера, Новый национальный театр в Токио, Дворец искусств в Валенсии, Театр ан дер Вин, Цюрихская опера, Брегенцский фестиваль, Афинский фестиваль (сцены Одеона Герода Аттика и театра в Эпидавре), Байройтский (2012, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2018) и Зальцбургский (2010 и 2011) фестивали; сотрудничал с Бостонским симфоническим оркестром и Симфоническим оркестром Оденсе (Дания).

В его репертуаре центральное место занимают партии в операх Рихарда Штрауса – Барак («Женщина без тени»), Иоканаан («Саломея»), Мандрыка («Арабелла»), и Рихарда Вагнера – Амфортас («Парсифаль»), Фридрих фон Тельрамунд («Лоэнгрин»), Вотан/ Странник («Кольцо нибелунга»), Голландец («Летучий голландец»), наряду с ведущими баритоновыми партиями в операх «Моисей и Аарон» А. Шёнберга (Моисей), «Ифигения в Тавриде» К.В. Глюка (Тоас), «Снегурочка» Н. Римского-Корсакова (Мизгирь).

Среди недавних ангажементов: Граф Вителоццо Тамаре («Меченые» Ф. Шрекера) в Цюрихской опере, Фридрих фон Тельрамунд («Лоэнгрин») в Национальном театре Праги и на Оперном фестивале в Байройте, Водяной («Русалка» А. Дворжака) в Парижской национальной опере, заглавная партия в опере «Орест» Манфреда Трояна, Дон Пизарро («Фиделио» Л. ван Бетховена) и Амфортас («Парсифаль» Р. Вагнера), Дон Пизарро в новой постановке «Леоноры» Венской оперы, Вотан («Валькирия») в амстердамском Концертгебау, Мандрыка («Арабелла») и заглавная партия в спектакле «Летучий голландец» Лейпцигской оперы.

Выступал с выдающимися дирижерами, в их числе Даниэль Баренбойм, Семен Бычков, Даниэле Гатти, Филип Жордан, Владимир Юровский, Зубин Мета, Кент Нагано, Андрис Нелсонс, Сэр Саймон Рэттл, Дональд Ранниклс, Ульф Ширмер, Штефан Солтеш, Кристиан Тилеманн и Симона Янг.