Александр Титель


A graduate of the Russian Academy of Theatre Arts (GITIS, L. Mikhailov’s class).
Between 1980 and 1991 he was Chief Director of the Sverdlovsk (now Ekaterinburg) Opera and Ballet Theatre.

Since 1991 he has been Artistic Director and Chief Director of Opera in the Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Moscow Academic Music Theatre.
Among his productions in the Theatre are Glinka’s Ruslan and Lyudmila, Rimsky-Korsakov’s The Tale of Tsar Saltan, The Golden Cockerel and May Night, Verdi’s Ernani and La Traviata, Puccini’s La Bohème, Bizet’s Carmen, Prokofiev’s Betrothal in a Monastery, Strauss’ Die Fledermaus, Mozart’s Cosi fan tutte and Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin, Prokofiev’s War and Piece and The Love for Three Oranges, Rossini`s Il barbiere di Siviglia, Mussorgsky's Khovanshchina, Cherubini's Medea, Mozart’s Don Giovanni, Offenbach`s Les Contes d`Hoffmann.

Among the operas produced in other theatres are Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunov, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Christmas Eve, Shostakovich’s Katerina Ismailova, Taktakishvili’s First Love, Rossini’s The Barber of Seville, Verdi’s Nabucco, Mascagni’s Cavalleria rusticana, Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci, Offenbach’s Les contes d’Hoffmann, overall over fifty productions in Russia and abroad (Czech Republic, France and Turkey). He staged world premieres of the operas The Prophet by Vladimir Kobekin, Antigone by Vasily Lobanov, Hamlet by Vladimir Kobekin.

In 1991 he produced Rimsky-Korsakov’s Christmas Eve at the Bolshoi Theatre. In 2001 he staged Prokofiev‘s The Gambler (world premiere of the first version). In 2017 produced Rimsky-Korsakov`s The Snow Maiden (conductor: Tugan Sokhiev, set designer: Vladimir Arefiev).

Mr. Titel is a Professor at the musical theatre department of the Russian Academy of Theatre Arts (GITIS).

Mr. Titel’s productions appeared on festivals in Edinburgh, Kassel, Riga, Efes and Aspendos as well as on tours of the Music Theatre throughout the USA, South Korea and Germany.

He is holder of the State prize of the USSR, the Golden Mask National theatre prize and Casta Diva award.