Nearest performances

Ballet in two actsSwan Lake16 september18 september20 september17 november
Ballet in two acts Production by Yuri GrigorovichGiselle24 september
Ballet in two actsLa Sylphide 4 october4 october
Ballet by John Cranko in three actsOnegin14 october16 october
Ballet in one actClassical Symphony21 october22 october23 october24 october
Ballet in one actApollon Musagète21 october22 october23 october24 october
Ballet in three actsSpartacus6 november8 november
Ballet by John Neumeier in three acts with a prologueLady of the Camellias3 december4 december5 december5 december6 december
Ballet in three actsA Legend of Love11 december12 december13 december
Ballet in two actsNutcracker20 december26 december27 december29 december30 december30 december
Comic ballet in two actsThe Bright Stream23 december24 december

Biography

Born in Moscow into a family of famous Bolshoi Theatre artists — the singer Tamara Sorokina and the dancer Shamil Yagudin. In 1985, he completed his studies with distinction at the piano department (Lev Naumov’s class) of the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatoire, and in 1989, also with distinction, he graduated from the Conservatoire’s department of opera-symphony conducting (Yury Simonov’s class).

In 1983, Pavel Sorokin joined the Bolshoi Theatre as ballet accompanist. From 1987-89, he was a probationer at the Paris Conservatoire, perfecting his conducting skills in the class of Professor Jean-Sebastien Berreau. In summer 1989, he took part in the Boston Symphony Orchestra (BSO) Tanglewood Festival. He worked on probation with the BSO under the leadership of Seiji Ozawa and Leonard Bernstein. At the end of his term as probationer (he got an excellent certificate and was given the opportunity of giving a concert at a prestigious American venue), he auditioned for the Bolshoi Theatre and was accepted into the Company.

At the Bolshoi Theatre he has conducted the following productions: Iolanta (1997); — and the ballets: Petroushka by Stravinsky (1991), Adam’s Le Corsaire (1992, 1994), Prokofiev’s Prodigal Son (1992), Lovenskjold’s La Sylphide (1994), Swan Lake (a revival of Yury Grigorovich’s first version, 2001), Arik Melikov’s A Legend of Love (2002, 2014), Glazunov’s Raymonda (2003), Shostakovich’s The Bright Stream (2003) and Bolt (2005), Asafiev’s The Flames of Paris (2008), Jewels to music by Gabriel Fauré, Igor Stravinsky, Pyotr Tchaikovsky (2012), Classical Symphony to music of Sergei Prokofiev (2012), Dream of Dream to music of Sergei Rakhmaninov (2012), Stravinsky’s Apollon Musagète (2012), Minkus’ La Bayadere (2013), Onegin to music by Pyotr Tchaikovsky (2013), Lady of the Camellias to music by Frédéric Chopin (2014).

In 1996, he was assistant to Mstislav Rostropovich when the latter directed a production of Mussorgsky’s Khovanshchina (Shostakovich version) at the Bolshoi. When Maestro Rostropovich stopped conducting this production himself, he handed it over to Pavel Sorokin.

The conductor’s repertoire also includes the operas: Ivan Susanin by Glinka, The Oprichnik, The Maid of Orlenas, Eugene Onegin, The Queen of Spades by Tchaikovsky, Prince Igor by Borodin, Khovanshchina by Mussorgsky (Rimsky-Korsakov version), The Tsar’s Bride, Mozart and Salieri, The Golden Cockerel by Rimsky-Korsakov, Francesca da Rimini by Rachmaninov, Betrothal in a Monastery and The Gambler by Prokofiev, Il Barbiere di Siviglia by Rossini, La Traviata, Un Ballo in Maschera, Macbeth by Verdi; and the ballets: Nutcracker and The Sleeping Beauty, Shostakovich’s The Golden Age, Schnittke’s Sketches, Giselle, Chopiniana; and symphonic works.

From 2000-02, Pavel Sorokin was chief conductor of the Radio and Television State Symphony Orchestra. From 2003-07, was chief conductor of the Symphony Orchestra of Russia. From 2007, he has been a guest conductor at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden.

The conductor’s discography includes recordings of the works of Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov and Grieg made with the Moscow State Philharmonia’s Academic Symphony Orchestra and the Radio and Television State Symphony Orchestra. In 2014 he recorded The Nutcracker — Essential Highlights CD with Queensland Symphony Orchestra (Australia).

At the present time, Pavel Sorokin conducts at the Bolshoi Theatre Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunov; — and the following ballets: Melikov’s A Legend of Love, Stravinsky’s Apollon Musagète, Bizet — Shchedrin’s Carmen Suite, Chopiniana, Classical Symphony to music by Sergei Prokofiev, Delibes’ Coppelia, Adam’s Giselle, Ivan the Terrible to music by Sergei Prokofiev, Jewels to music by Gabriel Fauré, Igor Stravinsky, Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Minkus’ La Bayadere, Levenskiold’s La Sylphide, Adam’s Le Corsaire, Lady of the Camellias to music by Frédéric Chopin, Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker, Onegin to music by Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Glazunov’s Raymonda, Khachaturyan’s Spartacus, Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake, Shostakovich’s The Bright Stream, Asafiev’s The Flames of Paris, Tchaikovsky’s The Sleeping Beauty.

Ближайшие представления

Дон Кихот 23 апреля
Светлый ручей 9 мая10 мая28 июня29 июня30 июня
Ундина 13 мая
Легенда о любви 19 мая20 мая21 мая
Онегин 21 июня22 июня


				
Павел Сорокин

Биография

Родился в Москве в семье известных артистов Большого театра — певицы Тамары Сорокиной и танцовщика Шамиля Ягудина. В 1985 г. окончил с отличием фортепианное отделение (класс Льва Наумова), в 89-м, тоже с отличием, — отделение оперно-симфонического дирижирования (класс Юрия Симонова) Московской государственной консерватории имени П. И.Чайковского.

В 1983 г. был принят в Большой театр в качестве концертмейстера балета. С 1987-го по 89-й г. стажировался, совершенствуя свое дирижерское мастерство, в Парижской консерватории в классе профессора Ж. С.Берро. Летом 1989 г. участвовал в Тэнглвудском фестивале, проводимом Бостонским симфоническим оркестром (БСО). Стажировался в БСО под руководством Сейджи Озавы и Леонарда Бернстайна. По окончании стажировки (получил отличную аттестацию и возможность дать концерт в престижном американском концертном зале), поступил по конкурсу в Большой театр.

За время работы в театре осуществил постановки оперы «Иоланта» П. Чайковского (1997 г. ), балетов «Петрушка» И. Стравинского (1991 г. ), «Корсар» А. Адана (1992, 1994 гг. ), «Блудный сын» С. Прокофьева (1992 г. ), «Сильфида» Х. Левеншелля (1994 г. ), «Лебединое озеро» П. Чайковского (восстановленная версия первой постановки Ю. Григоровича, 2001 г. ), «Легенда о любви» А. Меликова (2002, 2014 гг. ), «Раймонда» А. Глазунова (2003 г. ), «Светлый ручей» (2003 г. ) и «Болт» (2005 г.) Д. Шостаковича, «Пламя Парижа» Б. Асафьева (2008 г.), «Драгоценности» на музыку Г. Форе, И. Стравинского, П. Чайковского (2012 г.), «Классическая симфония» на музыку С. Прокофьева (2012 г.), «Dream of Dream» на музыку С. Рахманинова (2012 г.), «Аполлон Мусагет» И. Стравинского (2012 г.), «Баядерка» Л. Минкуса (2013 г.), «Онегин» на музыку П. Чайковского (2013 г.), «Дама с камелиями» на музыку Ф. Шопена (2014 г.).

В 1996 г. был ассистентом Мстислава Ростроповича, когда тот ставил в Большом театре оперу «Хованщина» М. Мусоргского в редакции Д. Шостаковича. Павлу Сорокину маэстро Ростропович и передал этот спектакль после того, как перестал им дирижировать сам.

Репертуар дирижера включает также оперы «Иван Сусанин» М. Глинки, «Опричник», «Орлеанская дева», «Евгений Онегин», «Пиковая дама» П. Чайковского, «Князь Игорь» А. Бородина, «Хованщина» М. Мусоргского (редакция Н. Римского-Корсакова), «Царская невеста», «Моцарт и Сальери», «Золотой петушок» Н. Римского-Корсакова, «Франческа да Римини» С. Рахманинова, «Обручение в монастыре» и «Игрок» С. Прокофьева, «Севильский цирюльник» Дж. Россини, «Травиата», «Бал-маскарад», «Макбет» Дж. Верди, балеты «Щелкунчик» и «Спящая красавица» П. Чайковского, «Золотой век» Д. Шостаковича, «Эскизы» А. Шнитке, «Жизель» А. Адана, «Шопениана» на музыку Ф. Шопена, симфонические произведения западноевропейских, русских и современных композиторов.

В 2000-02 гг. Павел Сорокин был главным дирижером Государственного симфонического оркестра радио и телевидения. В 2003-07 гг. являлся главным дирижером Симфонического оркестра России.
С 2007 г. — приглашенный дирижер Королевской оперы Ковент Гарден.

Дискография дирижера включает записи произведений П. Чайковского, С. Рахманинова, Э. Грига, осуществленные с Академическим симфоническим оркестром Московской государственной филармонии и Государственным симфоническим оркестром радио и телевидения. В 2014 г. с Квинслендским симфоническим оркестром записал балет «Щелкунчик».

В настоящее время Павел Сорокин дирижирует в Большом театре оперой «Борис Годунов» М. Мусоргского, балетами «Аполлон Мусагет» И. Стравинского, «Баядерка» Л. Минкуса, «Дама с камелиями» на музыку Ф. Шопена, «Драгоценности» на музыку Г. Форе, И. Стравинского, П. Чайковского, «Жизель» А. Адана, «Иван Грозный» на музыку С. Прокофьева, «Кармен-сюита» Ж. Бизе — Р. Щедрина, «Классическая симфония» на музыку С. Прокофьева, «Коппелия» Л. Делиба, «Корсар» А. Адана, «Лебединое озеро» П. Чайковского, «Легенда о любви» А. Меликова, «Онегин» на музыку П. Чайковского, «Пламя Парижа» Б. Асафьева , «Раймонда» А. Глазунова, «Светлый ручей» Д. Шостаковича, «Сильфида» Х. С. Левенскольда, «Спартак» А. Хачатуряна, «Спящая красавица» П. Чайковского, «Шопениана» на музыку Ф. Шопена, «Щелкунчик» П. Чайковского.