Марк Лао

Biography

Born in Belgium, Marc Laho studied voice and trumpet at Académie Royale de Beaux Arts in Liege. He attained success at several voice competitions, including the Luciano Pavarotti International Competition in Philadelphia (1992). He made his opera debut in 1989 at Opéra de Monte Carlo in the role of the Officer in J.Massenet`s Thérese. He was subsequently engaged at La Piccola Scala and the theatres in Orlando, Nancy and Rennes.

His repertoire includes the roles of Don Ottavio in Mozart`s Don Giovanni, Fernando in Donizetti’s La Favorita and Nemorino in L’elisir d’amore, Almaviva in Rossini`s Il barbiere di Siviglia, Don Alvaro in Meyerbeer``s L’Africaine, Des Grieux in Massenet`s Manon, as well as numerous tenor roles in operettas , such as Offenbach’s La belle Helene and La Périchole, Lehár’s Die lustige Witwe.

He appeared as Gerald in Delibes`s Lakmé opposite Natalie Dessay in Avignon and Nimes, sang Tonio in Donizetti`s La fille du régiment and Laertes in Thomas`s Hamlet in Geneva, portrayed Paris in Offenbach`s La belle Helene in Zurich under the baton of N. Harnoncourt, Elvino in Bellini`s La sonnambula at Paris’s Opéra Comique and in Vienna, Rossini’s Le Comte Ory at the Glyndebourne Festival, in London, Florence and at Opéra Comique. Furthermore, he sung Prince Léopold in Halévy`s La Juive in Tel Aviv, Arturo in Bellini`s I Puritani in Avignon, Liege and Essen, and appeared in Donizetti’s Don Pasquale and Verdi’s I Lombardi alla prima crociata in Marseille, in Donizetti’s Lucia di Lammermoor in Toulouse.

In the 2009/10 season his most successes include performing Berlioz’s Requiem at the Saint-Denis Festival conducted by Sir Colin Davis, portraying the lead role in Offenbach’s Les contes d’Hoffmann in Geneva, at Teatro Reggio in Turin, and at the National Theatre in Prague.

The 2012/13 season saw Marco Laho in the title role in Stradella by César Franck, a world premiere for the reopening of the Royal Opera of Wallonia in Liège. Marc Laho appeared as Fernand in Donizetti's La favorite at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Guillaume Tell at the Théâtre Royal de Liège and Alfred (Die Fledermaus) at the Grand-Théâtre de Genève in 2013.

In 2014-2016 Marc Laho could be heard singing the title roles in Les contes d'Hoffmann (Theater Basel, Opéra de Toulon, Staatstheater Stuttgart), Faust (Opera Hong Kong), La Damnation de Faust. He also appeared as Mario Cavaradossi (Tosca) at the Théâtre Royal de Liège, Nadir (Les Pêcheurs de perles) at the Opéra Royal de Wallonie, Ulysse (Pénélope) Opéra National du Rhin, Fernando (La favorite) Deutsche Oper Berlin and Rodolfo (La bohème) Théâtre Royal de Liège.

Discography

Rossini`s Le comte Ory, conductor Andrew Davis, staging Jérôme Savary, Glyndebourne Festival (1997).
Donizetti`s Lucie de Lammermoor, conductor Evelino Pidò, Opéra National de Lyon (2002).
Offenbach`s Les Contes d’Hoffmann, conductor Patrick Davin, staging Olivier Py, Grand Théâtre de Genève (2008).
Ropartz`s Symphonie No. 3, conductor Jean-Yves Ossonce (2011).
Franck`s Stradella, staging Jaco Van Dormael, conductor Paolo Arrivabene, Opéra Royal de Wallonie (2012)

Марк Лао

Биография

Родился в Бельгии, учился по классу вокала и трубы в Королевской Академии изящных искусств в Льеже. Принимал участие в вокальных конкурсах, в том числе Международном конкурсе Лучано Паваротти в Филадельфии (1992). На оперной сцене дебютировал в 1989 г. в Опере Монте-Карло в роли Офицера («Тереза» Ж.Массне).

Его репертуар включает партии Дона Оттавио ("Дон Жуан" В.А.Моцарта), Феррандо («Фаворитка» Г.Доницетти), Неморино ("Любовный напиток" Г.Доницетти), Альмавивы ("Севильский цирюльник" Дж.Россини), Дона Альваро ("Африканка" Дж.Мейербера), де Грие ("Манон" Ж.Массне), а также многочисленные теноровые партии в опереттах («Прекрасная Елена» и «Перикола» Ж.Оффенбаха «Веселая вдова» Ф.Легара).

Исполнил партию Джеральда с Натали Дессей («Лакме» Л.Делиба) в Авиньоне и Ниме, спел Тонио («Дочь полка» Г.Доницетти) и Лаэрта ("Гамлет" А.Тома) в Женеве, Париса («Прекрасная Елена» Ж.Оффенбаха) в Цюрихе под управлением Николауса Арнонкура, Эльвино ("Сомнамбула" В.Беллини) в Опера-комик и в Венcкой опере. Принял участие в исполнении оперы «Граф Ори» Дж.Россини на Глайндборнском фестивале, в Лондоне, Флоренции и в Опера-комик. Кроме того, исполнил партию Принца Леопольда в «Иудейке» Ф.Галеви (Тель-Авив), Артуро в "Пуританах" В.Беллини (Авиньон-Льеж и Эссен), участвовал в постановках "Дон Паскуале" Г.Доницетти и «Ломбардцы в первом крестовом походе» Дж.Верди (Марсель), "Лючии ди Ламмермур" Г.Доницетти (Тулуза).

В сезоне 2009-10 г. наиболее успешными были его выступления в «Реквиеме» Г.Берлиоза на Фестивале в Сен-Дени (дирижер Колин Дэвис), в ведущей роли в "Сказках Гофмана" Ж.Оффенбаха в Женеве (режиссер Оливье Пи), а затем в Королевском театре Турина и в Пражском Национальном театре.

В 2012 г. исполнил заглавную роль на премьере оперы «Страделла» С. Франка, приуроченной к открытию обновленного здания Королевской оперы Валлонии в Льеже. В 2013 г. исполнил партию Фернандо в «Фаворитке» Г.Доницетти в театре Елисейских полей, заглавную партию в «Вильгельме Телле» Дж.Россини (Королевская опера Валлонии) и партию Альфреда в "Летучей мыши" Й.Штрауса (Женевский Большой театр).

В сезонах 2014-15 и 2015-16 выступал в Королевской опере Валлонии ("Искатели жемчуга" Ж.Бизе, "Осуждение Фауста" Г.Берлиоза, "Богема" и "Тоска" Дж.Пуччини), Базельском оперном театре, в Тулонской опере, Городском театре Штутгарта ("Сказки Гофмана" Ж.Оффенбаха), Опера Гонконг («Фауст» Ш.Гуно), Национальной Рейнской опере ("Пенелопа" Г.Форе), Немецкой Опере в Берлине («Фаворитка» Г.Доницетти).

Дискография

Среди многочисленных записей:
«Граф Ори» Дж.Россини (Глайндборнский фестиваль, дир. Эндрю Дэвис, реж. Жером Савари; 1997).
«Лючия ди Ламмермур» Г.Доницетти (Национальная Лионская опера, дир. Эвелино Пидо; 2002).
«Сказки Гофмана» Ж.Оффенбаха (Женевский оперный театр, реж. Оливье Пи; 2008).
Симфония №3 Жозефа Ги Ропарца (дир. Жан-Ив Оссонс; 2011).
«Страделла» С.Франка (Королевская опера Валлонии, Льеж, дир. Паоло Арривабене, реж. Жако ван Дормель, 2012).