Анна Смирнова

Biography

Born in Moscow to a family of musicians, she studied at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow.
In 2007 she made her debut at the Teatro alla Scala as the Principessa in Adriana Lecouvreur. She appeared in 2007 as Amneris in Aida at the Berlin Staatsoper, a role she later sang at the Deutsch Oper in Berlin. She was heard as Eboli in Don Carlo under the direction of Lorin Maazel in Valencia in 2008 and appeared as Eboli that same year at La Scala. She has also appeared as Eboli during La Scala’s tour to Japan in September of 2009. Other engagements for the 2008-2009 season included her debut in Verona as Amneris in Aida, a role she also sang that season at the Rome Opera and at La Scala.

She sang her first performances of Santuzza in Cavalleria rusticana at the Teatro la Fenice in 2009 and appeared in this role in the 2009/2010 season in Valencia conducted by Lorin Maazel. Also in the 2009/2010 season, she appeared in Il trovatore in Florence and as Amneris in Tel Aviv.

In the 2010/2011 season, Anna Smirnova appeared at the Deutsche Oper in Berlin in Adriana Lecouvreur opposite Angela Gheorghiu and Jonas Kaufmann. She made her Vienna State Opera debut that season as Amneris and made her debut at the Royal Opera, Covent Garden in the same role. She sang her first performances as Lady Macbeth in Verdi’s opera at the Deutsch Oper in Berlin and made her Metropolitan Opera debut in Don Carlo.

In the 2011/2012 season, she made her debut at the Chicago Lyric Opera as Amneris. Further engagements also included her Chicago Lyric Opera debut as Amneris, her debut at the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich as Eboli in Don Carlo and her debut at the Liceu in Barcelona as Preziosilla in La forza del destino. She was also be heard in Munich, Savonlinna and in Arena di Verona as Amneris.

In 2013 she has sung as Eboli in Don Carlo at the Metropolitan Opera, Azucena in Il trovatore in Bayerische Staatsoper Munich, Amneris in Napoli and Rio de Janeiro, and Abigaille in Nabucco in Deutsche Oper Berlin.

In 2014 she performed the part of Joan of Arc in a concert performance of The Maid of Orleans at the Bolshoi Theatre (conductor Tugan Sokhiev).

Анна Смирнова

Биография

Родилась в Москве в семье музыкантов. Окончила Московскую государственную консерваторию им. П.И. Чайковского.

В 2007 г. дебютировала в театре Ла Скала, исполнив партию Принцессы Буйонской в опере «Адриана Лекуврер» Ф. Чилеа. В том же году исполнила партию Амнерис («Аида» Дж. Верди) в Берлинской государственной опере, а затем в Немецкой опере (Берлин). В 2008 г. спела партию Эболи («Дон Карлос» Дж. Верди) в Валенсии (дирижер Лорин Маазель) и в Ла Скала (в 2009 г. исполнила эту партию на гастролях Ла Скала в Японии). Также в сезоне 2008/09 дебютировала в Вероне в партии Амнерис («Аида»), затем выступила в этой партии в Римской опере и Ла Скала.

В сезоне 2009/10 дебютировала в театре Ла Фениче в партии Сантуццы в опере «Сельская честь» П. Масканьи, затем исполнила эту партию в Валенсии под управлением Лорина Маазеля. Исполнила партию Азучены («Трубадур» Дж. Верди) во Флоренции и Амнерис («Аида») в Тель-Авиве.

В сезоне 2010/11 исполнила партию Принцессы Буйонской («Адриана Лекуврер» Ф. Чилеа) в Немецкой опере в Берлине (среди партнеров — Анджела Георгиу и Йонас Кауфман). В том же сезоне исполнила партию Леди Макбет («Макбет» Дж. Верди) в Немецкой опере в Берлине. Дебютировала в Венской государственной опере и Королевской опере Ковент Гарден в партии Амнерис и в Метрополитен-опере в партии Эболи («Дон Карлос»).

В сезоне 2011/12 дебютировала в Чикагской лирической опере в партии Амнерис («Аида»), в Баварской государственной опере в партии Эболи («Дон Карлос») и в барселонском Театре Лисео в партии Прециозиллы («Сила судьбы» Дж. Верди), а также выступила в Савонлинне и в Вероне (Амнерис в опере «Аида»).

В 2013 г. исполнила партию Эболи («Дон Карлос») в Метрополитен-опере, Азучены («Трубадур») в Баварской государственной опере, Амнерис («Аида») в Неаполе и Рио-де-Жанейро и Абигайль («Набукко» Дж. Верди) в Немецкой опере.

В 2014 г. приняла участие в концертном исполнении оперы «Орлеанская дева» П. Чайковского в Большом театре, исполнив партию Иоанны (дирижер Туган Сохиев).